Competency matrix

Competency Matrix

IIA-Australia has developed a competency matrix for the internal audit industry based on the IIA Global Internal Audit Competency Framework. This matrix uses 10 core competencies which details the skills and abilities to be demonstrated by roles in the industry: New Internal Auditor, Experienced Internal Auditor, CAE and Sole Internal Auditor.

The competencies have been grouped into three areas: Internal Audit Skills, Personal Skills and Business Knowledge. 

Uses for your organisation

This competency matrix can be used:

  • to assist you and your staff to develop a career pathway, identify strengths, areas for improvement (competency gaps) and any further training required
  • to set performance expectations and measures for each role
  • as a benchmark against the competency matrix of your own organisation
  • to assist HR professionals and recruiters to develop appropriate job descriptions and recruit suitably qualified staff

Copies of the matrices are available to members of IIA-Australia in the members section of the website.

To discuss membership options please contact