IIA-Australia Awards

Bob McDonald Award

The Bob McDonald Award is named in honour of the first Australian to hold the position of International Chairman of the global IIA-Australia and of his outstanding contribution to the profession of internal audit.

First presented in June 2004, the inaugural recipient of the Bob McDonald Award was Frank Bowles CIA FIIA(Aust). To date, recipients of this prestigious professional award are:

2023 Freddy Beck PFIIA CCSA CIA

2019 Stephen Horne PFIIA CIA CGAP CRMA
2014 David Lawler PFIIA CIA 

2008 Bruce Turner AM PFIIA CGAP CRMA 

2022 Stephen Coates PFIIA CIA CRMA CGAP CISA

2018 Philomena Leung PFIIA
2012 Peter Roebuck MIIA(Aust)
2007 Michael Parkinson PFIIA CIA CRMA and Richard Norris MIIA(Aust)
2021 Tania Stegemann PFIIA CIA CCSA CRMA

2016 Cathy Blunt PFIIA CIA

2011 Maree Patane PMIIA CIA CRMA and Bill Middleton PFIIA CIA CRMA

2006 Glen Laslett PMIIA CIA CCSA CRMA 

2020 Barry Davidow PFIIA CRMA
2015 Gary Anderson PMIIA CIA CRMA 
2009 Jocelyn Newton FIIA(Aust)

Nominations can be submitted at any time for the Bob McDonald Award although there is a formal call for nominations once a year. To nominate, download and complete the following form:

Bob McDonald – Award Criteria & Nomination Form – Word Document 

Bob McDonald – Award Criteria & Nomination Form – PDF 

Internal Auditor of the Year Award

The Internal Auditor of the Year Award recognises the individual standing and contribution of an internal auditor, both within their organisation and beyond.

  • 2022:  Anthony Robinson PMIIA CIA

Emerging Internal Audit Leader of the Year Award

The Emerging Internal Audit Leader of the Year Award recognises superior and progressive contributions by an individual to their organisation and or internal audit profession.

  • 2023: Dr Peter McLeod PMIIA GradCertIA
  • 2022:  Lisa Berriman PMIIA CIA

Internal Audit Team of the Year Award

The Internal Audit Team of the Year Award recognises internal audit function/teams who excel in the provision of internal audit services to their organisations or clients.

  • 2023: WA Department of Health
  • 2022:  Northern Sydney Local Health District 

Meritorious Service or Contribution Award

This award is to recognise meritorious service or contributions to the IIA-Australia or profession at large, by a member.

Nominations are made by Chapter Councils, IIA-Australia Directors or IIA-Australia staff. 

  • 2023: Andrew Baldwin
  • 2023: Des Brady
  • 2022: Nigel Dalton-Brown AMIIA
  • 2019: Stephen Linden PFIIA
  • 2018:  Mandy Tran PMIIA CIA 

John Blackman Certified Internal Auditor Award

The annual John Blackman Award is named after the first President of the NSW Chapter of the Institute of Internal Auditors Australia.

The aim of the John Blackman Award is to demonstrate the Institute’s commitment to the highest standards of professional practice in internal auditing.

The Award recognises the achievement by an Australian candidate in passing the CIA® examinations (all four parts – 1990 to 2001; three parts – 2015+) without failures and excellent scores.

The inaugural winner in 1990 was Dennis Fullgrabe. Subsequent winners are:

2023 Kristen Cruise

2022 Joel Dell’Armi

2021 Joemar Asuncion

2020 Xin Deng

2019 Joshua Gould

2018 Paul Townsend

2017 Jessica Gabai

2016 Drew Turner

2015 James Manning

2014 Robert Magistrado

2001 Julie Crisp

2000 Shane McCarthy

1999 Cameron Duck

1998 Peter Coon

1997 Magdalenda Au

1996 George Edwards

1995 Robert Overell

1991 Darryl Butler

1994 Michael Parkinson

1993 Sean Kelly

1992 Mary Hoare

GradCertIA Excellence Award Winners

These awards were created to reward individual excellence in candidates completing the GradCertIA and aim to:

  • Encourage high level achievement
  • Recognise excellence and commitment
  • Provide a platform for professional advancement.

Further information

The Victor Z. Brink Award for Distinguished Service Awards

The Victor Z. Brink Award for Distinguished Service award was established in honour of Victor Brink, one of The IIA’s founders, and its recipients demonstrate outstanding service to the profession through participation in IIA activities.

  • 2011: Robert (Bob) Norman McDonald OAM PFIIA CIA CGAP
  • 2015: Michael John Parkinson PFIIA CIA CRMA 

The Certificate of Honors

The Certificate of Honors is one of the prestigious William S Smith Awards for Outstanding CIA Examination Performance. The Smith Awards are named in honour of the first Chairman of the Board of Regents, who was a driving force behind the development of the CIA Program. Consideration for the Smith awards is based on a candidate’s performance on the core  parts of the CIA exam (Parts I , II and III). 

  • 2018: Paul Townsend
  • 2017: Jessica Gabai
  • 2014: Robert Magistrado 
  • 2011: Stuart Hay 
  • 2004 :Matthew McDonald and Donna Smith 
  • 2001: Julie Crisp and David White

Life Members

Life membership of IIA-Australia is awarded to members who have made significant contributions to the Institute/Profession. This may involve volunteering, leadership roles, or other forms of active participation.

  • 2017: Bob McDonald
  • 2017: Michael Parkinson
  • 2019: David Lawler
  • 2021: Ian Rodin

Certificate of Excellence

1994 Michael Parkinson (the first Certificate of Excellence for performance as a CIA candidate internationally).